Thursday, December 12, 2019

Blog Tour: Hearts, String, and Other Breakable Things


Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Jacqueline Firkins
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Goodreads
In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I've Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First there's Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there's Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player. He’s totally off limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone's heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn't hers.

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Can't-Wait Wednesday!


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I am combining CWW with Books From the Backlog hosted by Carole at Carole's Random Life in Books. This will allow me to feature some newly "rediscovered" books, which I plan on reading, alongside a new release.

This week I can't wait for:

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Top Ten Tuesday: Free Skate!

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's topic is...

Free Skate!
Me skating on my aunt's pond back in the day. 

This week, we are left up to our own devices, and I wanted to do something that involved winter. While perusing my books, I saw, that I had quite a few, which featured ice skating in some capacity, and therefore, thought it would make a great topic for this week. All books are YA EXCEPT the last two, but I loved them both so much, and had to include them. I will admit, many of these books center around hockey, but there are a few, OK two, which focus on figure skating, and actually, made me want to find more YA books with figure skating characters.