Monday, December 17, 2018

One Old, One New: Swoon Reads Edition

One Old, One New features two books - one old, one new, which are connected in some way. Today, I am sharing two adorable romances from one of my favorite imprints, Swoon Reads.

Friday, December 14, 2018

Discussion: Making a Debut


This Week’s Topic: Making a Debut

Every year, we get a fresh, new crop of writers, who have achieved their dream of being published. And, every year, I take a chance on many of these new authors. I read their debuts, and I can say, it it's always a chance worth taking.

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for 
The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise!

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: That Reminds Me

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's topic is...

That Reminds Me!

To be perfectly honest, this week was a freebie, and I had recently been singing more and more every time I see certain book titles. In case you are confused, a while back, I did a TTT where I shared book titles that reminded me of songs. It was really fun to do, and I was thinking about it again, because I encountered a reading challenge built around this entire idea (I cannot remember where I saw it, but if you know of it, let me know in the comments). These are culled from this year's read list, but I am already making a new list from my TBR. Enjoy!

Monday, December 10, 2018

In a Nutshell: YA Edition


In a Nutshell Reviews are my version of mini-reviews, because sometimes, you just want the highlights.

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday: Death Prefers Blondes - Caleb Roehrig


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for 
Death Prefers Blondes!

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Let's Throwback

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's topic is...

Let's Throwback!

Something I learned this week: I don't read may "cozy" winter books or books set in winter, for that matter. Executive decision - I am doing a totally different topic. I have been making more of an effort to read my shelves and get through my backlist books, and I must say, many of these books have been spectacular reads for me, and I would love to share some of them with you.

Monday, December 3, 2018

Friday, November 30, 2018

Discussion: Avoiding Responsibility

Tell Me Something Tuesday is a weekly discussion post on Rainy Day Ramblings where we discuss a wide range of topics from books to blogging.

Thursday, November 29, 2018

One Old, One New: The Witchy Edition

One Old, One New features two books - one old, one new, which are connected in some way. Today, I am sharing two books featuring witches.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: Famous in a Small Town - Emma Mills


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for Famous in a Small Town !

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: It's Friendship!

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's topic is...

It's Friendship!

I love seeing friendships celebrated in the books I read, and I have been treated to many memorable fictional friendships. This week, I want to spotlight some of the wonderful friendships I encountered this past year.

Monday, November 26, 2018

Friday, November 23, 2018

Discussion: Pride and Prejudice - What's the Fuss?

Every time I turn around, there is a NEW Pride and Prejudice retelling, spinoff, or sequel hitting the shelves. I have previously confessed, that I have yet to read the book (notice, it's still a possibility), but I can't stop and wonder WHY this story is leveraged over and over again so often. So, I will ask you my lovely readers. 

This Week’s Topic: Pride and Prejudice - What's the Fuss?

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: That's Not What I Heard - Stephanie Kate Strohm


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for 
That's Not What I Heard !

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Let's Eat!

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's topic is...

Let's Eat!


On Thursday, many of us in the US will start the official eating season. Thanksgiving is not my favorite eating holiday, that title belongs to Christmas, but I do appreciate gathering with my family and sharing a well cooked meal. Let's be clear, I am not a fan of cooking, but I am a fan of eating, and these are some foodie books, which left me hungry this year.

Monday, November 19, 2018

One Old, One New - The Cooking Edition

One Old, One New features two books - one old, one new, which are connected in some way. Today, I am sharing two books that feature teen chefs. Both books talked about cooking and food often, and both left my a little hungry, but in a happy state.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Discussion: Why I Comment

Tell Me Something Tuesday is a weekly discussion post on Rainy Day Ramblings where we discuss a wide range of topics from books to blogging.

Thursday, November 15, 2018

One Old, One New: Mia Garcia

One Old, One New features two books - one old, one new, which are connected in some way. Today, I am sharing two books by Mia Garcia.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday: 29 Dates - Melissa de la Cruz


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for 29 Dates !

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Books Within Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's topic is...

Books Within Books!

I really am not a buyer or a keeper of things, I don't like clutter, but I wanted to try and do something with this week's theme. It made me think about stories, which contain other stories within them. Some were more successful than others for me, but I would say, I always appreciated the effort it must take to sort of write two books at the same time.

Monday, November 12, 2018

Blog Tour: Your Own Worst Enemy - Gordon Jack

Your Own Worst Enemy
Gordon Jack
Series: n/a
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Goodreads
Three candidates, three platforms, and a whirlwind of social media, gaffes, and protests makes for a ridiculous and hilarious political circus in Gordon Jack’s second highly satirical novel. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman. They say that with great power comes great responsibility. Unless you’re student body president at Lincoln High School. Then you get all the responsibility but none of the power. And the three candidates running for president know all about that.

Stacey Wynn is the front-runner, but she didn’t count on Julia Romero entering this race. Julia is challenging Stacey for the title while also putting the moves on Stacey’s campaign adviser and only friend, Brian. And then there is Tony Guo, the way outsider. Tony is usually oblivious to the school’s political campaigning, as he’s oblivious to anything that isn’t about getting high and drinking all the Space Cow chocolate milk he can stomach. But when his favorite beverage is banned at school, a freshman political “mastermind” convinces Tony to become the voice of the little guy. But what kind of voice is that, really?

If this were an ordinary high school election, the winner would be whichever candidate was the most popular. But this year, each candidate may have to sink to a new low to win an election that could change the course of...very little.

Saturday, November 10, 2018

Giveaway: The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig

A while back I participated in a tour, and the publisher was very generous and sent me an ARC and two finished copies. Since I don't need three copies of a book, I am giving away the two finished copies. Sorry this is US only, because I am poor. I will be doing another international giveaway for the winter holidays.

If you missed my review, you can check it out here.

Thursday, November 8, 2018

Isn't It Romantic? - The One-Night Stand Edition

I love reading romances, and I love sharing them with you! These two were both fabulous, and I guess you could say both these romances started with a one-night stand. What happened after was vastly different, but I was amused when I realized that there was this similarity in the plot lines.

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: Match Me If You Can


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for Match Me If You Can!

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Beat the Backlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week's topic is...

Beat the Backlist!

My backlist makes up most of my TBR, and is therefore, endless, but I always like taking that hard look at my backlist, and getting input from you guys, as to which books I should really, really try to read.

Monday, November 5, 2018

One Old, One New: What Goes Up

One Old, One New features two books - one old, one new, which are connected in some way. Today, I am sharing two books titled What Goes Up, which also both happen to feature NASA in some way.

Friday, November 2, 2018

Discussion: Does this Match?

When Jennifer E. Smith's Windfall cover was revealed, it set some ripples through the YA world. There were many people, who were appalled by the new cover. No, there was nothing offensive or unsettling about the cover, but it was done in such a different style from all her past books. That brings me to my discussion today. 

This Week’s Topic: Does This Match?