Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: On Thin Ice - Julie Cross

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for On Thin Ice!

On Thin Ice
Julie Cross
Series: Juniper Falls, #3
Release Date: December 4, 2018
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
New York Times bestselling author Julie Cross completes her sexy, relatable hockey series with a fast-paced, shocking romance perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally.

Jake Hammond is the current Prince of Juniper Falls. He’s also been labeled the next great player to emerge from the Juniper Falls hockey dynasty. When a hundred-year-old hazing tradition at Juniper Falls pond goes all wrong, Jake is left seriously injured, shouldering the blame for the near death of another student and the knowledge that the quiet new girl saved his life.

Maybe if she’d realized how different this small town was from Austin, Brooke Parker wouldn’t have followed her mom here. Not that she had a choice. Same with saving that cocky hockey player from drowning at the pond. Now, she keeps seeing that same guy, wandering the woods between their houses. And they start to regularly meet at midnight in Jake’s old tree house.

Jake realizes that Brooke is full of life, ideas, places, and experiences bigger and broader than anything he’s ever known. Plus, she’s the first person to ever see him as Jake Hammond, a guy who’s not sure what to do with his life, rather than the future hockey star.

Maybe it isn’t enough anymore to just be the town hockey star? For Brooke, relying only on herself might not be enough, either.
Let's do a fast five of why I want to read On Thin Ice:
  1. I love hockey romances! If you look on my "read" shelf, you will see a whole lotta hockey romance. I have no idea why I love hockey heroes so much. I watch ZERO sports, but for some reason, I can never say no to a hockey player. 
  2. I really enjoyed the previous books in this series. I have a penchant for companion series, because when you pick up another book in the series, you are getting a whole new story, BUT you have this familiarity with the setting and other characters in the story. 
  3. This series seems to be getting better with each book. I liked book 1, and I liked book 2 even more than that. I am thinking at this rate, I can end up in love. 
  4. Julie Cross has yet to disappoint me. I have read several books from this author, and everyone has resulted in an enjoyable reading experience. A solid track record will always figure into my decision to read, or not to read. 
  5. This sounds a little fish out of water, with a girl from a big city coming to the wee town of Juniper Falls. Those stories are usually interesting and work well for me. 

What are you waiting on?
Let us know in the comments!

14 comments:

  1. I agree, I love Hockey romances! It's been a while since I read one but now I'm excited! Also yay for your Amy Pond gif! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hockey romances are so great! I've heard good things about this author. I hope you love this book, Sam!

    Have a wonderful day. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
  3. BIG YES indeed! I like fish out of water stories too!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooh I didn't know there were going to be more books in the series. I've really enjoyed these books so I can't wait.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh yes, does this sound amazing! Great pick. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have to add this one to my list. I hope you get a chance to read it! It's a great pick!

    Mary my CWW!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Cute pick! Not my kind of read but I hope you positively love it once you read it!

    Here's my Wow

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't read this series yet, but it sounds like a really fun contemporary. I hope that you enjoy this one. :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. This sounds like a cute read! Great pick!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  10. I like fish out of water stories too. Hope this one turns out good. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. I haven't heard of this series, but it kind of sounds up my alley! I hope you love it!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love the idea of the big city girl coming to a small town. Sounds like a recipe for a fun read :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Julie Cross and this series keeps sliding across my radar and I don't know why I've not got to reading it. The latest addition to the series sounds interesting as well.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Hockey romances are a lot more popular than I thought they were! And I am glad this author has been nothing but fantastic to read books by. Hopefully this one will be just as wonderful as the previous ^.^

    ReplyDelete