Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Can't Wait Wednesday!


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I am combining CWW with Books From the Backlog hosted by Carole at Carole's Random Life in Books. This will allow me to feature some newly "rediscovered" books, which I plan on reading, alongside a new release.

This week I can't wait for:
The How & the Why
Cynthia Hand
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Family, Adoption
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Goodreads
A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.
Why I want to read this book

I have such an interesting relationship with Hand. She has a knack for putting me in tears, either via her humor or her gut-punch, emotional storytelling. The topic here is one, that is bound to touch my heart. As a mother, I think being able to carry a child, and then give them to another family, has to be one of the most painful and difficult things a mother could do. I love the idea of this young woman, Cass, exploring her identity via these letters written by the mother she never had the opportunity to know, and I feel like Hand will do the story justice.

Golden 
Jessi Kirby
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Release Date: May 4, 2013
Goodreads
Seventeen-year-old Parker Frost has never taken the road less traveled. Valedictorian and quintessential good girl, she’s about to graduate high school without ever having kissed her crush or broken the rules. So when fate drops a clue in her lap—one that might be the key to unraveling a town mystery—she decides to take a chance.

Julianna Farnetti and Shane Cruz are remembered as the golden couple of Summit Lakes High—perfect in every way, meant to be together forever. But Julianna’s journal tells a different story—one of doubts about Shane and a forbidden romance with an older, artistic guy. These are the secrets that were swept away with her the night that Shane’s jeep plunged into an icy river, leaving behind a grieving town and no bodies to bury.

Reading Julianna’s journal gives Parker the courage to start to really live—and it also gives her reasons to question what really happened the night of the accident. Armed with clues from the past, Parker enlists the help of her best friend, Kat, and Trevor, her longtime crush, to track down some leads. The mystery ends up taking Parker places that she never could have imagined. And she soon finds that taking the road less traveled makes all the difference.
Why I want to read this book

I purchased this book, along with several other Kirby books, after reading and absolutely LOVING The Other Side of Lost. I just knew, I had to read more of her books. I selected this as my weekly backlog book, because I thought it would pair well with The Survival List, as both deal with someone trying to piece together the past of someone who had passed away. I am intrigued by the mystery element, but I am also interested in the how this story from the past will influence the main character's present. Regardless, I anticipate reading something that will deliver some feels and leave me satisfied.

What are you waiting on?
Any backlog books you want to read soon? 
Let us know in the comments!

36 comments:

  1. The How & the Why sounds like a good one. And the comparison to Far From the Tree definitely catches my eye. I'm not familiar with Hand but I'll check this one out when it's released.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved Far From the Tree, so it was a good name drop, even if I was already interested, because I like Hand.

      Delete
  2. I have Golden sitting on my shelf waiting to be read, too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's really good. At like 50%, it took an interesting turn, and I am really enjoying it.

      Delete
  3. Golden is my favorite book from Jessi Kirby and I have no doubt you will love it.
    The How & The Why definitely sounds like an emotional read. I'll keep my eyes out for your review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like Kirby, and I am about 75% through, and I sort of love the little twist she threw in there.

      Delete
  4. I have wanted to read The How & the Why since I heard about it. I haven't read anything from that author yet, but I'm very excited about this one. I hope we love it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had read the Janie books, which Hand co-authored, and I read The Last Time We Say Goodbye, which I adored, so I am looking forward to more by Hand.

      Delete
  5. The How and the Why sounds really good and so does Golden!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Golden is excellent so far. I am at 75% and I love where Kirby went with the story

      Delete
  6. I don't think I've read anything by either of these authors but have heard great things about both.

    I think I might have something by kirby on my Kindle too.

    Karen @ For What It's Worth

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My first Kirby book was good, but my second was fantastic. That's what made me buy a bunch of her backlist. She did some interesting things in this book, and I am really enjoying the story.

      Delete
  7. I love the sound of that first one and the quest for her roots and identity Sam!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think Hand will do a great job with it too, because The Last Time We Say Goodbye was an emotional masterpiece for me.

      Delete
  8. Nice! Those are new to me ones! I keep waiting and hoping Cynthia will write another paranormal read, but looks like I'm waiting a little while longer still. Lol. Hope you enjoy these two reads when you get to read them!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hmmm, it has been a while. I guess the Janie books are sort of paranormal? I am pretty sure the last one had ghosts.

      Delete
  9. The How and the Why is one that has intrigued me as well. Golden is new to me and I am in love with its cover and synopsis. Thanks for sharing these! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Golden is really good. It's an older book, but I have been wanting to read Kirby's backlist for a while.

      Delete
  10. Oh wow, that Cynthia Hand book sounds like it's going to be an emotional read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. A gut punch is good every now and again.

      Delete
  11. Oooh! Both of these books sound great! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  12. I hope you'll enjoy the books when you read them! I love that anticipation as you wait for a book to come out that you really want to read!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Usually my anticipation is inversely related to how soon I will read it. HA!

      Delete
  13. These both sound intriguing! I'm an adoptive mom, so I'm always up for an enlightening adoption story. I'll definitely be checking both of these out.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you read Hand's book, I bet you will have a bit of insight on the topic.

      Delete
  14. I can see why you want to read these:) The How and the Why has me curious.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hand is so good too. I think it will be fabulous.

      Delete
  15. I like the cover for The How and The Why! Hope you enjoy it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I didn't understand it, until I read the synopsis, and I like that the cover has something to do with the book.

      Delete
  16. You always find the best books! These both look great and I hope you enjoy them!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't keep myself off the Goodreads. *laughing* I hope this is one of the books on my TBR, that I actually read.

      Delete
  17. Oh I didn't know Cynthia Hand is releasing a new book. I feel like this one's gonna be emotional since it deals with family. I love books that center around families and I haven't read a Hand book since The Afterlife of Holly Chase.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think my first Hand book was My Lady Jane, then Holly Chase (which I really liked), and then The Last Time We Say Goodbye (which I LOVED). I think she will do good things with this concept

      Delete
  18. I've only read Cynthia Hand's angel series, but I need to read more of her stuff. Great picks this week! Thanks for visiting my Wednesday post earlier, sorry it took me so long to return the visit.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right now, my favorite by Hand is The Last Time We Say Goodbye. It just was a combination of so many things I love

      Delete